Work that Twerk!

This week’s writing challenge is about Miley Cyrus’ VMA performance.  I’m not a fan of Miley Cyrus.  I never watched Hannah Montana (I saw her merchandise in the stores and such but never the show), and I don’t like country music.  All I really know about her is Billy Ray Cyrus is her dad, and she was on the Disney Channel for quite a while.

I’ll admit that while watching the VMA’s I was a little weirded out by her performance.  I ended up checking out the music video afterwards when I was confused as to why she was surrounded by high looking, giant teddy bears.  As strange as her performance was, I didn’t have an issue with it.  In fact, I don’t see what all of the hullabaloo is about.  I saw this hilarious comic this morning while reading my usual web comic regimen.

20130902

Now first, with regards to her performance.  She reminded me a of a young, female Gene Simmons with her tongue hanging out through half of the performance, and I wasn’t a fan of her outfit.

HOWEVER.  Her singing was just fine, and that girl can get her twerk on!  I have no problem with twerking.  I danced from when I was five until when I was eighteen.  In those 13 years of dance competitions I saw styles of dance that were MUCH more provocative performed by people as young as six years old.  Those kids won medals.   Miley Cyrus is an adult and she gets harassed over the news and internet.

The outfit she wore when she took off the leotard was a nude bikini.  I don’t see a problem with this either.  Does no one remember that Lady Gaga was wearing a thong?  She was dancing with Robin Thicke and singing Blurred Lines, in which his music video dancers wore even less in the unrated version.  They wore NO tops and a nude thong.

My older sister made a good point when I brought it up with her.  Miley is an adult now, and she grew up in the eyes of the media from a child.  She’s going through the same issues that Britney Spears did.

I totally agree.  Turning into a woman in front of the world can be really hard on a girl!  Everyone judges your hair, your weight, and everything you wear.  She just wants everyone to see that she’s a woman now and not Hannah Montana, who is, by the way a made up, fictional character on a TV show.  Hannah Montana is not Miley Cyrus and people need to come to terms with that.  Just as they did with Danny Tanner from Full House when he did some pretty raunchy stand up.

People need to lay off the gal.  She’s a grown woman who wants to everyone to acknowledge it.  They acted the same way with Britney Spears and look what happened to her.  Do we really want to see young Miley take the same turn?

I say Miley should keep gettin her twerk on, and maybe cool it down a little with the foam finger.  Overall she has great energy and a great voice!  Also, people need to chill about her dancing all up on Robin Thicke.  You’d be a liar if you said you wouldn’t totally get all up on that man if you had the chance.   I know I would.  I’m married and I’d still crawl all over that hotness.

Furthermore, there are FAR MORE important things going on in the world other than Miley Cyrus.  Like I dunno…chemical warfare in Syria?  Equality for everyone?  Our military?  I think we’re just bored with our own lives, and should concentrate on more productive things.  Let the girl do her thang, and you can focus on doing yours!

Thoughts?

