Endometriosis Diaries #2

Hey everyone!

I know this post has come pretty quickly after the first one, but it’s because I found some awesome stuff to share with you!

To start off.  I had a mini break down this week.  I came home from work, the dishes were dirty, I was “hangry” and I longed for the not so distant days where I could have just grabbed a burger.

Needless to say, my husband offered to wash the dishes for me but all I could think about was how hypoglycemic I was and hungry, and how long that would take on top of how long it would take for me to cook.  Not to mention it was already almost 7:15 pm.  So I bawled my little baby eyes out on the couch frustrated at this diet, and then he dragged me to Boston Market.  I got chicken.  I guess there is something I can grab fast food.

ANYWAY!  Enough of my emotionalness.  I was just SO SICK of eating cold salads!  On to the sharing part!

TIP when dealing with the Endometriosis diet.  If you have a vegan, or vegetarian friend, talk to them!  Find out where they eat out that doesn’t include just eating a salad.  I guarantee you will be able to eat there because their food will not be made with animal fat, or any of the various meat we can’t eat.  Also, it’s less likely to be cooked with soy based products because it’s a restaurant.  No need to use soy to keep things fresher longer.

So find a veggie friend.  Mine is the lovely Maritza who sits next to me at work.  Not only did she point me in the right direction for soy and gluten free mayonnaise, but she also found me dairy, soy, and gluten free BUTTER.  That’s right butter.  (well it’s not actually butter, but it’s a substitute so I can still make my garlic toast!  On gluten free bread of course!)

Here’s the mayo, made by Vegenaise.  Don’t trust any regular mayo, light mayo, olive oil or any other “oil” made mayo.  Check the label.  I guarantee you that if it does not say “soy free” on the front, then it has soy in it.  BAD BAD soy, which helps the production of estrogen in those of us with endo, thus making more lesions.  Bad stuff.

The butter is made by Earth Balance.  They also make Mayo, but I wanted to try the brand Maritza swore by.  I got the little jar in case I don’t like it.

Just remember the Christmas colors.  The soy free brands of the two are green and red.  Check the front to be sure it says Soy Free though.

But Lenora, where can I get these wonderful soy free magical things of goodness?

And they are awesome.  Expect to pay a little more for these items because they are diet specific.  But I was surprised by how little they cost.  Also at whole foods I found these!  Almond yogurt, and coconut yogurt (the coconut I’d tried with the advice of Maritza again.  It’s good, but it has SO MUCH FIBER!)  The almond yogurt has much less, but I haven’t tasted it yet.

Amande is the almond yogurt.

SO Delicious is the coconut yogurt.

I at first scrunched up my face at these things, but the longer I’ve gone eating just salad, the more I long for familiar foods.  These things TASTE GOOD, and can help you if you’re trying to get through this diet like I am and come out of it a sane person.  I’ve noticed a significant decrease in pain already (which only comes back when I eat something I shouldn’t by accident).  Everything has freaking SOY!!!  >.<

Lastly, Whole Foods also has some awesome gluten free bread that they make in store.  It’s much cheaper than the regular brands and it tastes like BREAD.  Keep it frozen, and if you only eat bread every so often, it pays for itself.  It will stay good for 6 months.  Look for the one that’s the cheapest made by Whole Foods, labeled “Sandwich Bread” in the frozen section.

Okay, I think that about wraps it up.  Jimmy it’s your turn to share at show and tell.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teeny Bikini
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 00:25:57

    I love Whole Foods too, but I have to sell some jewelry to shop there… Interesting factoids about soy as well. Great info! Cheers.

    Reply

    • lenorahoward
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 00:30:17

      Oh I know! I often refer to it as “Whole Paycheck”. Not only because most of the stuff there is pretty pricey, but because they have so much good stuff! I could just buy out everything! 🙂

      Reply

Thoughts?

