Oh NaNoWriMo

Why do you hurt so good NaNoWriMo?  I’m about 17k into the novel I started this month for NaNoWriMo, which means that I’m BEHIND!  I took the day off yesterday because there was just too much to do, and my inner procrastinator made me do it…

I know my sister is probably getting annoyed with me by now.  NaNoWriMo is very emotionally exhausting for me.  I’m forcing myself to wake up at 5:30 am, and write until 7:00 am before I get ready for work and leave at 8:00 am.  Then I’m off to work with my sister who ends up having to listen to my book frustrations all the way there, or I’m just a grumpy half silent (because I’m never silent) lump sitting in her car.  Then I get to work, where I end up being the go-to girl for literally everything.  I force myself to write through my lunch hour and not talk to anyone.  After juggling a million and one projects, I’m out the door and back in the car where I whine all the way home.  I keep thinking that work must be harder than usual or something, but my sister reminds me that I’m doing NaNoWriMo, and yes I was this cranky last November.

And she’s right!  I was.  I’ll own up to it.  By the end of November last year I was a cantankerous whore who whined about everything, and ended up a puddle of tears once or twice.  I totally need to buy my sister extra Christmas presents for putting up with this crap.

If anyone has ever told you that writing a good novel is easy, then they didn’t write a good novel.  You can’t just make up characters and throw them into a scenario…well you can but your book probably won’t be that great.  There are plot holes, and inconsistencies to work out!  You have to make up something different  for fear that someone will be shaking their finger at you saying, “You copied off of insert name here”  I also think that it’s emotionally draining because I find myself creating characters that have so much depth.  There are days when I’m daydreaming up their back story and end up sad about it.  I’ve even rushed over to a girl I work with and said,

“Maritza!  This character Eris…her life is so sad that it’s making me depressed!”  From there I sent her a small excerpt and she too was saying.  “That’s so sad!”  There have been days where I want to rewrite their lives because I’ve made them suffer and I actually feel BAD for them!  Then I realize how crazy that sounds, and how much people actually like reading sad stuff.  So I leave it.  Actually, in fact sometimes I think I get some kind of sadistic pleasure in making my characters suffer.  There are times where I make up something wonderful and amazing, JUST so I can destroy it.  Like a mad scientist.

You’d think that it’s just typing, and that anyone can do it.  I have several friends who have tried, year after year to do it but just can’t.  I think the only reason I was able to finish it last year, is that there are just too many things floating around in my head.  But I can honestly say that NaNoWriMo is by far one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.  It emotionally drains me, I end up writing phonetically by December, and it’s exhausting.  But it’s WORTH IT.  Come December I will have a third novel, and I don’t know many my age that can brag about that.  25 years old with three novels.  And not only will I polish this novel like my last one last December, but I will make it ready for the public to read and publish that sucker!

Alright, enough procrastinating for one morning.

 

Thoughts?

